Senior players put their stamp on Proteas domination

2017-10-07 19:33
Kagiso Rabada (Gallo Images)

Cape Town -  It was the day for the senior Proteas players to make their mark as South Africa continued its domination of the second Test match against Bangladesh at the Mangaung Oval on Saturday.

By the close of day two the Proteas had taken a huge lead of 426 runs on the first innings to put Faf du Plessis in a position to enforce the follow on before the close of play.

The day started with Hashim Amla (132 off 163 balls, 17 fours) and Du Plessis (135 not out off 181 balls, 15 fours) setting a fourth wicket partnership record against Bangladesh of 247 runs. With the opening pair of Aiden Markram and Dean Elgar having scored centuries the previous day this was only the second occasion of the Proteas having four centuries in a single Test innings.

The previous occasion happened against the West Indies at Antigua in 2005.

Kagiso Rabada then took the game even further away from Bangladesh with his sixth career five-wicket haul (5/33 in 13.5 overs) as the visitors were dismissed for a paltry 147 in 42.5 overs. Rabada has now taken 49 wickets in the current calendar year which makes him the world leader while his overall total of 97 wickets has come in only his 22nd Test match.

Should he pick up a further three to reach three figures in the second innings he will take joint third place on the South African all-time list with only Vernon Philander (17 matches) and Dale Steyn (20 matches) having achieved this landmark quicker.

The only Bangladesh batsman to make a show was Litton Das who showed up the lack of technique of his colleagues and showed what could be done with a bit of determination and application. He made almost half the Bangladesh total (70 off 77 balls, 13 fours) before becoming Rabada’s fourth victim.

The only other batsman in the top order to reach double figures was Imrul Kayes.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.