SA win toss, bat first at Wanderers

2016-01-14 10:07
AB de Villiers (Gallo)

Johannesburg - South Africa won the toss and decided to bat in the third Test against England at the Wanderers Stadium on Thursday.

LIVE: SA v England, Day 1

Wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock was ruled out of the South African team after injuring his right knee in an accident at home on Wednesday evening.

Dane Vilas was flying from Port Elizabeth on Thursday morning to replace De Kock but was not expected to arrive before play started.

South Africa included a new cap, fast bowler Hardus Viljoen, 26, in a four-man pace attack with part-timer Dean Elgar the only spin bowler in the side.

England named an unchanged team, with opening batsman Alex Hales having recovered from a stomach bug.

De Kock slipped and sprained his right knee at home late yesterday afternoon. Initially he didn't think it was too serious but woke up after midnight in pain and with a swollen knee.

He will have investigations done later Thursday to ascertain the extent of the injury.

Vilas was due to play in a domestic four-day match for the Cape Cobras against the Warriors in Port Elizabeth. Vilas, who played in all four Tests for South Africa in India recently, made 216 not out for the Cobras against the Lions last weekend.

England lead the four-match series 1-0.

Play was due to get under way on a cool, overcast day on a pitch which had a fair covering of grass.


South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Stiaan van Zyl, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Dane Vilas, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Hardus Viljoen.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Alex Hales, Nick Compton, Joe Root, James Taylor, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Steven Finn.

Read more on:    proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 24 February 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 18:00
Thursday, 01 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Durban 10:00
Friday, 09 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.