Rabada no longer No 1, Steyn drops to lowest ranking

2018-07-24 11:43
kagiso rabada
Kagiso Rabada (AP)

Cape Town - Kagiso Rabada is no longer the world's No 1 Test bowler, according to the latest ICC rankings, following the Proteas' heavy 199-run defeat to Sri Lanka in the second Test in Colombo.

READ: Proteas' defeat upsets Asia win-loss Test ledger

After picking up just one wicket, Rabada has fallen to the No 2 spot, meaning England fast bowler James Anderson will start his country's 1 000th Test next week as the top-ranked bowler.

Rabada had claimed the top spot from Anderson following the Port Elizabeth Test against Australia earlier this year.

Rabada entered the Colombo Test leading Anderson by seven points, but now trails the Englishman by 10 points.

There was also some bad news for veteran fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Steyn remained wicketless for the first time in his career in the Colombo Test.

As a result, he conceded 36 points and dropped five places in the latest rankings. Steyn is now ranked 24th on 635 points, which is his lowest points total since October 2007.

READ: Maharaj bowls his way into record books

Meanwhile, spinner Keshav Maharaj was rewarded with a rise of five places following his match figures of 12-283, which included 9-129 in the first innings.

Maharaj is now ranked 18th in the world and his tally of points (692) is the most for a Proteas spinner since Paul Harris reached 705 in December 2009.

In the batting department, No 3 batsman Theunis de Bruyn was the biggest mover in the latest rankings.

Although De Bruyn's 101 failed to save his side, his maiden Test century in his sixth Test has lifted the 25-year-old from 148th to 105th (up 43 places).

Proteas opening batsmen Aiden Markram slipped three spots to lie 10th and Dean Elgar dropped one spot to lie ninth.

The Proteas will now shift their attention to the limited overs format with the first of five ODIs set to get underway on Sunday, July 29 (06:15 SA time).

ICC Test rankings:


1. Steve Smith (Aus) - 929

2. Virat Kohli (Ind) - 903

3. Joe Root (Eng) - 855

4. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 847

5. David Warner (Aus) - 820

6. Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) - 799

7. Dimuth Karunaratne (SL) - 754

8. Dinesh Chandimal (SL) - 733

9. Dean Elgar (SA) - 724

10. Aiden Markram (SA) - 703


1. James Anderson (Eng) - 892

2. Kagiso Rabada (SA) - 882

3. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) - 866

4. Vernon Philander (SA) - 826

5. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) - 811

6. Pat Cummins (Aus) - 800

7. Trent Boult (NZ) - 795

8. Rangana Herath (SL) - 791

9. Neil Wagner (NZ) - 765

10. Josh Hazlewood (Aus) - 759


1. Shakib Al Hasan (Ban) - 420     

2. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) - 394  

3. Vernon Philander (SA) - 370

4. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) - 365   

5. Jason Holder (WI) - 354

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc  |  dale steyn  |  keshav maharaj  |  kagiso rabada  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Friday, 21 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Johannesburg 18:00
Sunday, 23 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Port Elizabeth 14:30
Wednesday, 26 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Cape Town 18:00

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.