Rabada no longer No 1, Faf cracks Top 10

2019-02-18 11:16
Kagiso Rabada (Gallo)

Cape Town - Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins has overtaken South Africa's Kagiso Rabada atop the ICC Test bowling rankings.

This follows the Proteas' loss to Sri Lanka in the first Test at Kingsmead this past weekend.

Rabada finished with only three wickets in the match and it saw him drop to third in the rankings.

Cummins, meanwhile, is the first bowler from his country to top the Test bowlers' list since Glenn McGrath in February 2006.

On a positive note, Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis is among the top 10 batsmen for the first time in his career after scores of 35 and 90 helped him gain seven slots to reach join-10th position along with his counterpart Dimuth Karunaratne.

Quinton de Kock is also in that list, gaining four slots to reach eighth position and closing in on his career-best sixth position, which he had occupied two years ago.

Fast bowler Duanne Olivier continued his upward trend to reach a career-best 22nd position after advancing three slots.

READ: Sri Lanka sensation Perera hailed for Test-winning heroics

Test hero and Sri Lanka batsman Kusal Perera advanced an astonishing 58 places after his memorable performance helped his side to a thrilling one-wicket victory in Durban.

The left-handed Perera has reached a career-best 40th position after 15 Tests, scoring 51 and an unbeaten 153 that guided his team to an improbable win, partnering in the highest ever unbroken 10th wicket stand in a winning cause in first-class cricket.

He added 78 runs for the last wicket with Vishwa Fernando (six not out) to beat an 83-year record set by the Australians against Madras in February 1936.

ICC Test rankings:


1. Virat Kohli (IND) - 922

2. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 897

3. Cheteshwar Pujara (IND) - 881

4. Steve Smith (AUS) - 857

5. Joe Root (ENG) - 763

5. Henry Nichols (NZ) - 756

7. David Warner (AUS) - 772

8. Aiden Markram (SA) - 710

8. Quinton de Kock (SA) - 710

10. Dimuth Karunaratne (SRI) - 688

10. Faf du Plessis (SA) - 688


1. Pat Cummins (AUS) - 878

2. James Anderson (ENG) - 862

3. Kagiso Rabada (SA) - 849

4. Vernon Philander (SA) - 821

5. Ravindra Jadeja (IND) - 794

6. Trent Boult (NZ) - 771

7. Jason Holder (WI) - 770

7. Mohammad Abbas (PAK) - 770

9. Tim Southee (NZ) - 767

10. Ravichandran Ashwin (IND) - 763


1. Jason Holder (WI) - 439

2. Shakib Al Hasan (BANG) - 415

3. Ravindra Jadeja (IND) - 387

4. Ben Stokes (ENG) - 357

5. Vernon Philander (SA) - 332

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  kagiso rabada  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.