Proteas win toss, bowl in windy PE

2018-02-13 12:35
Aiden Markram (Gallo)

Cape Town - Proteas stand-in ODI skipper Aiden Markram has won the toss and elected to bowl in the fifth clash against India at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

LIVE: Proteas v India, 5th ODI

It is a must-win game for South Africa, who trail the tourists 3-1 in the six-match series.

"We’ve heard that the ball is skidding on under (new) lights and comes on to the bat nicely, so that’s the main reason for us bowling first," said South African captain Aiden Markram. "With a bit of cloud cover today maybe we can get some movement and strike early."

Indian captain Virat Kohli said he would have preferred to bowl. 

"But it looks a pretty good wicket," Kohli added.

"It's a must-win game for them, we have the lead and the advantage so we would like to put some decent runs on the board for them to chase down."

India were unchanged, while South Africa picked left-arm wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi in place of all-rounder Chris Morris, who has a back strain.


South Africa

Aiden Markram (captain), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi


Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wkt), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    india  |  proteas  |  port elizabeth  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00
Friday, 03 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 10:30
Thursday, 16 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.