Proteas win toss, bowl in Newlands ODI

2018-02-07 12:37
Aiden Markram (Gallo)

Cape Town - South Africa won the toss and sent India in to bat in the third one-day international at Newlands on Wednesday seeking to get back into the series.

LIVE: Proteas v India, 3rd ODI

With India having won the first two matches comfortably by chasing down targets, South African captain Aiden Markram admitted: "We understand India do chase well but we think there might be a bit of assistance for the bowlers up front and then it should be a very good wicket."

Indian captain Virat Kohli said: "We wanted to bat first, to change things up a bit. It looks a good batting track. We thought it might do more under lights with two new balls."

Kohli said India wanted to post a good total and then challenge an inexperienced South African batting line-up to chase a target.

India were unchanged for the third successive match.

South Africa made three changes.

Markram was due to open the batting, as he does in Test matches and domestic one-day games, following a wrist injury which ruled Quinton de Kock out of the rest of the series, as well as three Twenty20 internationals which follow the one-day matches.

Heinrich Klaasen, 26, will make his international debut, taking over the wicketkeeping gloves from De Kock and batting in a middle order severely weakened by injuries to AB de Villiers and regular captain Faf du Plessis.

Klaasen toured New Zealand last year as back-up wicketkeeper but did not play in a game. He is a capable batsman who scored 522 runs at an average of 52.20 in South Africa's recently completed domestic one-day competition.

Fast bowler Lungi Ngidi, who has already played in Tests and Twenty20 internationals, was making his one-day international debut in place of Morne Morkel, while all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo replaced wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.


South Africa

Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (captain), JP Duminy, Khaya Zondo, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wkt), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Read more on:    india  |  proteas  |  cape town  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 01 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Durban 10:00
Friday, 09 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Thursday, 22 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Cape Town 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.