Proteas win toss, bowl in first ODI

2018-11-04 06:01
Dale Steyn (Gallo)
Dale Steyn (Gallo)

Perth, Australia - South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bowl first in the opening one-day international against Australia in Perth on Sunday.

LIVE: Australia v Proteas, 1st ODI

The hosts, who lost their most recent one-day series against England 5-0, have axed Tim Paine as captain for the three limited-over clashes against the Proteas with Aaron Finch assuming the role.

Batsman Shaun Marsh withdrew ahead of the game for minor surgery on an abscess in his "buttock region" with D'Arcy Short playing instead.

Australia opted to go with an all pace attack, led by Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, meaning legspinner Adam Zampa misses out.

"We would have bowled as well," admitted Finch. "But we are confident coming into this series."

South Africa, who lost their warm-up match against a Prime Minister's XI, also have a strong bowling arsenal, spearheaded by Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi.

"Looks a nice, fast wicket," said du Plessis. "We're playing our full seam attack and hopefully they can do some damage."


Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Travis Head, D'Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Alex Carey, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis (capt), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS) and Aleem Dar (PAK)

TV umpire: Michael Gough (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Saturday, 19 January 2019
South Africa v Pakistan, , Port Elizabeth 13:00
Tuesday, 22 January 2019
South Africa v Pakistan, Durban 13:00
Friday, 25 January 2019
South Africa v Pakistan, Centurion 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.