Morkel returns, Proteas bowl at Lord's

2017-05-29 11:35
AB de Villiers (Getty)

Cape Town - The Proteas will bowl first in the third and final ODI of the series against England at Lord's on Monday.

Captain AB de Villiers won the toss for the third time in the series and, for the third time, opted to chase. 


Regardless of the result, South Africa cannot win the series after England won the first ODI in Leeds by 72 runs and then the second ODI in Southampton by two runs. 

South Africa have brought in fast bowler Morne Morkel while Wayne Parnell and JP Duminy also return. 

England, meanwhile, have rested Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali and Chris Woakes for the clash while Toby Roland-Jones comes in for his debut.



Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wkt), Adil Rashid, David Willy, Toby Roland-Jones, Jake Ball, Steven Finn

South Africa

Quinton de Kock (wkt), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel

Read more on:    england  |  proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.