Proteas win toss, bowl in Port Elizabeth

2019-03-13 12:33
Faf du Plessis (Gallo)
Faf du Plessis (Gallo)

Cape Town - South Africa will bowl first in the 4th ODI against Sri Lanka in Port Elizabeth after winning the toss on Wednesday.

LIVE: Proteas v Sri Lanka, 4th ODI

The Proteas have already wrapped up the series and lead 3-0, but with just two matches remaining between now and the World Cup in England this year the hosts will want to put in another polished display. 

South Africa made four changes to their team, while Sri Lanka had three changes.

The recalled Aiden Markram was due to bat at number three while JP Duminy was set to make his first appearance since suffering a shoulder injury in November.

They replaced Rassie van der Dussen and Dwaine Pretorius. Key bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir were rested, with Dale Steyn and Anrich Nortje coming in.

Opening batsman Reeza Hendricks, who was originally dropped for the last two games, kept his place because Hashim Amla was granted leave to be with his sick father.

Sri Lanka dropped opening batsman Niroshan Dickwella, with Upul Tharanga returning.

New cap Priyamal Perera replaced the injured Kusal Perera, while all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva was selected ahead of off-spinner Akila Dananjaya.

South African captain Faf du Plessis said he remained excited about Wednesday's games despite the series having been decided.

"There are World Cup places up for grabs and we set a goal that every game we want to put up a performance that is a little bit better."

Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga, yet to win in seven matches as captain, said he would have batted.

"The second half it (the pitch) might be a bit slower," he said.


South Africa

Faf du Plessis (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, David Miller, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Sri Lanka

Lasith Malinga (captain), Upul Tharanga, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Priyamal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) Shaun George (RSA),

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  port elizabeth  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.