Proteas win toss, bat at Newlands

2017-02-07 13:09
Tabraiz Shamsi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - South Africa won the toss and opted to bat on a wicket expected to yield abundant runs in the fourth one-day international against Sri Lanka on Tuesday.


With the five-match series already wrapped up after South Africa went 3-0 up, the home side gave left-arm wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi his first outing of the series at Newlands.

He and leg-spinner Imran Tahir will provide the hosts with two specialist spin options. All-rounder Wayne Parnell also returned, with Andile Phehlukwayo and Chris Morris left out.

"The pitch looks hard and well-rolled," said South African captain AB de Villiers.

"It looks a good batting wicket and we will try to put a good total on the board and put pressure on Sri Lanka."

Sri Lanka left out struggling batsman-wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal, bringing back opening batsman Sandan Weerakkody, with Niroshan Dickwella due to keep wicket.

In a second change, Nuwan Kulasekera replaced fellow seam bowler Suranga Lakmal.

"We have had discussions about the batsmen scoring twenties and thirties but not going on," said Sri Lankan captain Upul Tharanga. "It is important as a team to show what we can do."


South Africa

Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada

Sri Lanka

Niroshan Dickwella, Sandun Weerakkody, Upul Tharanga (captain), Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lahiru Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Lakshan Sandakan

Read more on:    proteas  |  tabraiz shamsi  |  cape town  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.