Proteas win toss, bat in Cape Town

2016-10-12 13:08
Faf du Plessis (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - South Africa have won the toss and will bat in Wednesday's fifth ODI against Australia in Cape Town.


The Proteas are looking to whitewash the Australians, already leading the series 4-0 with the Newlands clash the final match in the series.

David Miller, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir all return to the side.

From the side that won the fourth ODI in Port Elizabeth on Sunday, Farhaan Behardien, Aaron Phangiso, Dwaine Pretorius and Tabraiz Shamsi drop out. 

Australia made one change with Joe Mennie replacing John Hastings.


South Africa

Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis (captain), Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Imraan Tahir


David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (captain), George Bailey, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Wade, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00
Friday, 03 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 10:30
Thursday, 16 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.