Proteas to bat first in Durban ODI

2017-02-01 13:03
AB de Villiers (Gallo)

Durban - Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bowl in the second one-day international against South Africa in Durban on Wednesday.


"It looks a very good wicket, hopefully we can restrict them to below 250," said Sri Lankan captain Upul Tharanga.

South African skipper AB de Villiers said the pitch looked unusually dry.

"I was probably going to bat first but it is not a typical South African wicket. The trickiest part of batting first is to know what total will be a good one," he said.

South Africa were unchanged after winning the first match in Port Elizabeth by eight wickets on Saturday.

Sri Lanka made two changes, bringing in all-rounders Chaturanga de Silva and Sachith Pathirana for batsman Sandun Weerakkody and leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay.


South Africa

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

Sri Lanka

Upul Tharanga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (wkt), Chaturanga de Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachith Pathirana, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan.

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Read more on:    proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  durban  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Thursday, 12 March 2020
India v South Africa, , Dharamshala 00:00
Sunday, 15 March 2020
India v South Africa, , Lucknow 00:00
Wednesday, 18 March 2020
India v South Africa, , Kolkata 00:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Following Ottis Gibson's firing, who would you like to see handed the new Team Manager role?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.