Proteas T20 warm-up cancelled in England

2017-05-05 17:02
Faf du Plessis (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Proteas T20 warm-up match against Leicestershire CCC has been cancelled at the Fischer County Ground next month.

The English country informed by ECB that the provisional T20 fixture against the Proteas on Sunday, June 18 will not take place.

The game was initially due to take place on the condition that the Proteas did not reach the ICC Champions Trophy final.

However, due to the agreement that the teams sign to take part in the ICC Champions Trophy, it is explicitly noted that no team can take part in any match up to and including five days after the final match, which is played on June 18.

"Whist we accept that the fixture was always subject to South Africa not reaching the ICC Champions Trophy final, it is disappointing to be informed at this late stage that the game can now no longer take place," Leicestershire CCC chief executive Wasim Khan told the county's website.

"We now move on and look forward to welcoming the West Indies to the Fischer County Ground in early September."

South Africa tour to the UK:

Friday, May 19, 1-day Tour match v Sussex (D/N) The County Ground, Hove
Sunday, May 21, 1-day Tour match v Northants Northampton


Wednesday, May 24, 1st ODI (D/N) Headingley, Leeds     
Saturday, May 27, 2nd ODI Ageas Bowl, Southampton
Monday, May 29, 3rd ODI Lord’s, London

ICC Champions Trophy: June 1-19

Sunday, June 18, T20 Tour match v Leicestershire Grace Road, Leicester (CANCELLED)


Wednesday, June 21, 1st T20I Ageas Bowl, Southampton
Friday, June 23, 2nd T20I, The County Ground, Taunton
Sunday, June 25, 3rd T20I, Cardiff

June 29-July 1, 3-day v England Lions New Road, Worcester


July 6-10, 1st Test Lord's, London
July 14-18, 2nd Test Trent Bridge, Nottingham
July 27-31, 3rd Test The Oval, London
August 4-8, 4th Test Old Trafford, Manchester

Proteas ODI squad for three-match ODI series against England and ICC Champions Trophy:

Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Quinton de Kock - wicketkeeper (Titans), Faf du Plessis (Titans), AB de Villiers - captain (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), David Miller (Knights), Chris Morris (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Morne Morkel (Titans)

Read more on:    proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 29 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Paarl 13:00
Wednesday, 04 March 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Bloemfontein 13:00
Saturday, 07 March 2020
South Africa v Australia, Potchefstroom 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.