Proteas name squad for Bok clash

2016-11-30 10:00
Faf du Plessis (Getty)

Cape Town - Several of the heroes of the Proteas seven successive victories over Australia in the ODI and Test formats will headline the South African cricket team in their Nelson Mandela Legacy Cup match against the Springboks at Newlands next Thursday.

The match will start at 18:00.

The Proteas have concentrated on T20 specialists such as David Miller, Imran Tahir and Aaron Phangiso with the only uncapped player being wicketkeeper Mangaliso Mosehle who was the Player of the Match in last season’s franchise T20 final.

With the restrictions placed on the run-ups of the quick bowlers in the Proteas squad they are expected to make extensive use of their spin bowling options.

All six franchises have at least one representative in the Proteas line-up.

This is the third edition of this match that honours the country’s founding president and has the aim of raising funds for the Nelson Mandela Foundation.

Fans are encouraged to make their donations to the Nelson Mandela Foundation via a dedicated SMS line on match day.

Tickets prices range from R120 to R180 and can be purchased through or at the Newlands ticket office.

The match will be televised live on SuperSport.

There will be various activities in stadium on match day for fans to get involved and as well as the opportunity to meet some of their cricket and rugby heroes.

Proteas squad:

Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Mangaliso Mosehle (Highveld Lions), Faf du Plessis (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), David Miller (Knights), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Kyle Abbott (Warriors)

Read more on:    springboks  |  proteas  |  cape town  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.