Proteas lose toss, bat in Bloem

2017-10-06 09:34
Mushfiqur Rahim (Getty)

Cape Town - Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and elected to bowl in the second Test against South Africa in Bloemfontein on Friday.

LIVE: SA v Bangladesh, second Test, Day 1

The tourists made four changes following their 333-run defeat in the first Test in Potchefstroom.

Fit-again Soumya Sarkar replaced the injured Tamim Iqbal at the top of the batting order, while there were three changes among the bowlers.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam replaced off-spinner Mehidy Hasan, while fast bowlers Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy came in for Taskin Ahmed and Shafiul Islam.

South Africa made an enforced change with left-handed all-rounder Wayne Parnell replacing the injured Morne Morkel.

Rahim said he expected more life from the pitch in the early stages than there had been in Potchefstroom where South Africa piled up 496 for three declared.

"Hopefully there will be more for our bowlers," he said.

South African captain Faf du Plessis also said he expected more life from the pitch. "There is a little bit of grass, so the first session will be important. After that it should be a good batting wicket and it could get quite dry by days four and five," he said.


South Africa

Faf du Plessis (captain), Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Keshav Maharaj, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Duanne Olivier.


Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Liton Das (wkt), Sabbir Rahman, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Subashis Roy.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Bruce Oxenford (AUS).

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL).

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    bangladesh  |  proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.