Proteas bat in De Villiers' 200th appearance

2016-06-19 19:17
AB de Villiers (Gallo Images)

Bridgetown - Australian captain Steve Smith won the toss and put South Africa in to bat in the seventh match of the Tri-Nation One-Day International series at Kensington Oval in Barbados on Sunday.

Leading the standings by a point over Australia and a further point ahead of hosts the West Indies, a victory for South Africa today will confirm their place in the final at the same venue in seven days' time.

Their captain, AB de Villiers, is appearing in his 200th ODI for his country.

Mindful of a pitch that is expected to be more helpful to the fast bowlers than at the previous venues in Guyana and St Kitts, the Proteas have brought in tall fast bowler Morne Morkel for his first match of the tournament at the expense of left-arm wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

Australia have adopted similar tactics by bolstering their pace armoury with the return of Mitchell Starc, in keeping with the policy of alternation between himself and Nathan Coulter-Nile, and also selecting Scott Boland for his first appearance in the competition. Glenn Maxwell returns to the line-up in the middle-order at the expense of Travis Head after missing the last two matches at Warner Park.



Steve Smith (captain), Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood.

South Africa

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Faf du Plessis, J.P. Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SLK), Joel Wilson (WIS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.