Proteas bat first, three changes

2017-01-25 17:38
AB de Villiers (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Proteas have won the toss and will bat first in the third and deciding T20I against Sri Lanka at Newlands. 

Captain Farhaan Behardien had no hesitation in opting to make first use of the wicket under blue skies in Cape Town on Wednesday. 

AB de Villiers, as expected, returns to the side for his first international appearance in over six months. He comes in for Theunis de Bruyn. 

South Africa made two other changes with Cape Cobras seamer Dane Paterson included for his Proteas debut at the expense of Aaron Phangiso while Reeza Hendricks cracks the nod instead of Heino Kuhn at the top of the order. 

The series is tied at 1-1 after South Africa won a rain-affected clash in Pretoria before they came unstuck in Sunday's low-scoring Wanderers affair. 


South Africa

Reeza Hendricks, JJ Smuts, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien (captain), Mangaliso Mosehle, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Paterson, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

Sri Lanka

Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Kulasekera, Laskan Sandakan, Isuru Udana


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Sunday, 04 February 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.