Proteas bat first in effort to make history

2018-03-30 09:33
Faf du Plessis (Gallo)

Johannesburg -  South Africa will bat after winning the toss in the fourth and final Test against Australia at the Wanderers.

LIVE: SA v Australia - 4th Test, Day 1

Captain Faf du Plessis named an unchanged side from the XI that won at Newlands last week, while Australia's ball-tampering fallout in that Test forced them into several changes. 

David Warner, Cameron Bancroft and Steve Smith are all back in Australia serving their respective bans from the game, while Peter Handscomb, Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw come into the side. 

There is also a debut for Chadd Sayers, who comes in for Mitchell Starc.

South Africa, 2-1 up in the series, will make history by becoming the first Proteas side since re-admission to win a Test series against Australia on home soil if they can avoid defeat at the Wanderers. 

This Test is also Morne Morkel's farewell to international cricket with the 33-year-old having announced that he will retire at the end of the series. 

In the Australian camp, meanwhile, this is coach Darren Lehmann's last Test in charge following his shocking resignation on Thursday.

A solid crowd is expected for day one, and while the clouds were making for an overcast morning in Johannesburg, no rain is expected. 


South Africa

Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel


Matt Renshaw, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitch Marsh, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Chad Sayers, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Umpires: Ian Gould, Nigel Llong (both ENG)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  johannesburg  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Sunday, 30 September 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Kimberley 10:00
Wednesday, 03 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Bloemfontein 11:00
Saturday, 06 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Paarl 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.