Proteas bat as Morkel, Bavuma return

2018-03-22 10:02
Kagiso Rabada (Gallo)

Cape Town - South Africa will bat first in the third Test against Australia at Newlands after winning the toss on Thursday.

The Proteas have made two changes to their starting line-up with Temba Bavuma returning from injury to replace Theunis de Bruyn while Morne Morkel comes in for Lungi Ngidi

Ngidi had been struggling with a toe injury in the build-up to the Test, and his exclusion hands Morkel a chance to become just the fifth South African to reach 300 Test wickets.

LIVE: SA v Australia - 3rd Test, Day 1

Morkel, currently on 297 Test wickets, has announced that he will retire from international cricket at the end of the series. 

Kagiso Rabada, as expected, is included after his successful appeal against a two-Test suspension.

Australia, meanwhile, go in with an unchanged line-up. 

It is a perfect day at Newlands without a cloud in the sky, and with the series tied at 1-1 it is sure to be an intriguing day of Test cricket. 

Play will start at 10:30.


South Africa

Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel


David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (captain), Shaun Marsh, Mitch Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon

Umpires: Richard Illingworth, Nigel Llong (both ENG)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    proteas  |  cape town  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 12 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Galle International Stadium 06:30
Friday, 20 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Colombo 06:30
Sunday, 29 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium 06:15
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season has wrapped up. For all the season highlights - and lowlights - be sure to visit Sport24!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.