Markram moves up, Amla out of Top 10

2018-07-16 22:11
Aiden Markram (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Proteas opening batsman Aiden Markram has moved up in the latest ICC Test rankings following the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle.

The Proteas were completely outplayed by their hosts as the home side handed out a crushing 278-run defeat in Galle.

Markram was the only South African to move up in the batsmen rankings - moving one slot up to seventh place. 

READ: Faf calls for toss to be scrapped

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne achieved a career-high position in the rankings after carrying his bat in the first innings, scoring an unbeaten 158 and making 60 in the second innings.

Karunaratne leaped 21 places to knock Proteas batsman Hashim Amla out of the top 10. 

Steve Smith of Australia, South Africa's Kagiso Rabada and Shakib Al Hasan are the top-ranked batsman, bowler and all-rounder, respectively.

READ: Sri Lankan trio suspended for bulk of Proteas tour

As the Test team rankings are updated following the conclusion of a series, these will only be updated after the end of Sri Lanka versus South Africa series.

If South Africa win the second and final Test and level the series in Colombo, then they will finish on 110 points (down by two) and Sri Lanka will end on 93 points (up by two points).

But, if Sri Lanka win the series 2-0, then they will join England on 97 points, but will be ranked below Joe Root's side by a fraction of a point, and South Africa will join Australia on 106 points, but will be ranked ahead of Tim Paine's side when the rankings are calculated beyond the decimal point.

Sri Lanka lead the two-match Test series 1-0 with the second Test starting on Friday in Galle (06:30 SA time).

ICC Test rankings:


1. Steve Smith (Aus) - 929

2. Virat Kohli (Ind) - 903

3. Joe Root (Eng) - 855

4. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 847

5. David Warner (Aus) - 820

6. Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) - 799

7. Aiden Markram (SA) - 750

8. Dean Elgar (SA) - 746

9. Dinesh Chandimal (SL) - 740  

10. Dimuth Karunaratne (SL) - 720


1. Kagiso Rabada (SA) - 899

2. James Anderson (Eng) - 892

3. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) - 866

4. Vernon Philander (SA) - 834 

5. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) - 811

6. Pat Cummins (Aus) - 800

7. Trent Boult (NZ) - 795

8. Neil Wagner (NZ) - 765

8. Rangana Herath (SL) - 765

10. Josh Hazlewood (Aus) - 759


1. Shakib Al Hasan (Ban) - 420     

2. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) - 394  

3. Vernon Philander (SA) - 378 

4. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) - 365   

5. Jason Holder (WI) - 354

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  proteas  |  aiden markram  |  hashim amla  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.