India win toss and bat in final T20 International

2019-09-22 15:09
Virat Kohli (AP)

Bengaluru - India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first in Sunday's third Twenty20 international against South Africa.

LIVE: India v South Africa, 3rd T20 International

The hosts, who lead the three-match series 1-0, are unchanged from their previous win on Wednesday. The opening game was washed out.

Most games at the Bangalore stadium have been won by the team batting second, but Kohli said his decision is aimed at getting battle ready for the T20 World Cup next year.

"I know it's a chasing ground, that's what teams do here in the IPL (Indian Premier League) too, but heading into the World Cup we want to strengthen areas and put ourselves under pressure," Kohli said at the toss.

"Of course results are always going to be a priority, but we need to push ourselves out of our comfort zone with the World Cup coming up."

South Africa have made one change in their bid to level the series, with left-arm paceman Beuran Hendricks coming in for Anrich Nortje.

"Whether we bat or bowl first we just have to make sure we come out here and compete," said skipper Quinton de Kock.

"I think the last game was up and down for our team but we spoke about it and we're going to try and correct our mistakes."


India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (captain), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Washington Sundar, 10 Deepak Chahar, 11 Navdeep Saini

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (captain & wicket-keeper), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Temba Bavuma, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 David Miller, 6 Andile Phehlukwayo, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Bjorn Fortuin, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Beuran Hendricks, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Read more on:    india  |  proteas  |  virat kohli  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Wednesday, 26 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Cape Town 18:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Paarl 13:00
Wednesday, 04 March 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Bloemfontein 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.