India frustrate SA in Delhi

2015-12-04 08:27
Ajinkya Rahane (AFP)

Delhi - Ajinkya Rahane hit the first century of the series as India batted themselves into a healthy position on the second day of the fourth and final Test against South Africa in New Delhi on Friday.

Live Scoring: India v South Africa

After resuming at 231-7, India moved on to 326-8 at lunch, with Ravichandran Ashwin unbeaten on 53 and Umesh Yadav batting on five.

Rahane, 27, reached his fifth Test century and his first on home soil with a classic straight drive off paceman Kyle Abbott (3-39).

The stylish right-hander, on 89 overnight, raised his arms in celebration before waving his bat towards cheering fans at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

No batsman had scored a century in an otherwise low-scoring series which India have sealed already after winning the first and third Tests.

Rahane thrived on the Kotla track, which seemed to have evened out after offering inconsistent bounce and turn to bowlers on the opening day.

Rahane's fine innings came to an end when he handed a straightforward catch to AB de Villiers in the covers off leg-spinner Imran Tahir.

His 127 runs came off 215 balls and was studded with 11 fours and four sixes.

Rahane exhibited crackling form in the morning session, lofting off-spinner Dane Piedt for two sixes in the same over, including one that sailed over the long-off fence.

Rahane, who shared 98 runs with Ashwin, helped India steady the boat after they were reeling at 139-6 at one stage.

Ashwin, the leading wicket-taker of the series with 24, showed his skill with the bat as well, reaching his sixth Test half-century with a six off Tahir.

The prodigal Tahir, who was used for just seven overs on Thursday, has given away 59 runs from 14 overs so far while taking the prized wicket of Rahane.


India - Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma

South Africa - Hashim Amla (captain), Dean Elgar, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Dane Vilas, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Abbott, Dane Piedt

Read more on:    india  |  proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 01 February 2020
South Africa XI v England XI, Paarl 10:00
Tuesday, 04 February 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 13:00
Friday, 07 February 2020
South Africa v England, , Durban 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.