ICC World T20 groups announced

2015-12-11 10:41
ICC logo (File)

Cape Town - The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday announced the groups and schedule for the 2016 World Twenty20.

All 2016 World T20 fixtures

The event will be staged across eight venues in India from 8 March to 3 April.

A total of 35 matches will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and Delhi.

Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on March 30 and 3, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the April 3 final.

The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6m, which is an 86 percent increase from the 2014 tournament.

Eight sides in two groups of four will feature in the first round matches with the group winners joining eight sides in the Super 10 stage (two groups of five teams). The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals.

The first round matches will take place in Dharamsala and Nagpur from March 8-13 and will feature Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, debutants Oman (all in Group A), Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan (all in Group B).

In a double-header on the opening day on March 8, Zimbabwe will face Hong Kong in the afternoon match, to be followed by the evening match between Scotland and Afghanistan. Both the matches will be played in Nagpur.

The group winners will join Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and hosts India in the Super 10 stage.


Defending champions Sri Lanka have been placed in Super 10 Group 1 along with South Africa, West Indies, England and the Group B winner. They will open their title defence against the Group B winners in Kolkata on March 17, and play West Indies in Bengaluru on March 20, England in New Delhi on March 26 and South Africa in Delhi on March 28.

Hosts India, who won the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007, are in Super 10 Group 2 along with 2009 winners Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and the Group A winner. India will launch their campaign in Nagpur against New Zealand on March 15, while they will go head to head with Pakistan in Dharamsala on March 19. Their other matches will be against the Group A winner in Bengaluru on March 23 and Australia in Mohali on March 27.

Pakistan will take on the Group A winner in Kolkata on March 16, before locking horns with traditional rivals India in Dharamsala on March 19. Their remaining two matches will be in Mohali against New Zealand and Australia on March 22 and 25, respectively.

England, who won the 2010 tournament in the West Indies, take on 2012 winner the West Indies in Mumbai on March 16, followed by matches against South Africa (March 18 in Mumbai), the Group B winner (March 23 in New Delhi) and Sri Lanka (March 26 in New Delhi).

After taking on England in their tournament opener, the West Indies will square off against Sri Lanka (March 20 in Bengaluru), South Africa (March 25 in Nagpur) and the Group B winner (March 27 in Nagpur).

First round (group winners to progress to second round)

Group A - Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman

Group B - Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan

Second round groups

Super 10 Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner group B (Q1B)

Super 10 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner group A (Q1A)

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc world twenty20  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.