Hendricks, De Bruyn rewarded with national contracts

2019-03-01 10:27
Reeza Hendricks
Reeza Hendricks (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday announced the Proteas men's and women's players to be awarded national contracts for the 2019/20 season.

The contracts cover the Proteas men's bilateral tours away to India in October and March, the full tour home series against England next summer and the home white ball series against Australia as well as this year’s ICC Cricket World Cup.

The women's major upcoming commitment is the ICC Women's World T20 Cup to be played in Australia in early 2020.

There also important International Women's Championship series against Pakistan (home) and India and New Zealand (both away).

Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn were not previously awarded full national contracts, but were upgraded to a full contract after reaching the necessary threshold during the course of the current season.

The upgrade system will again be in place this year. Those players performing and selected for the Proteas during the 2019/20 season and who are not contracted can qualify for a National Contract upgrade.

"We have contracted 16 men's players and 14 women's players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats," commented CSA CEO, Thabang Moroe.

"This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists."

Those to lose their national contracts in the past 12 months, through retirement or otherwise, are: AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir and Chris Morris.

CSA contracted Proteas men's players:

Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), David Miller (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Dale Steyn (Titans)

CSA contracted Proteas women’s players:

Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Marizanne Kapp (EP), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Lizelle Lee (North West), Sune Luus (Northerns), Zintle Mali (Border), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Chloe Tryon (KZN Coastal), Dane van Niekerk (EP), Laura Wolvaardt (WP)

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas  |  theunis de bruyn  |  reeza hendricks  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.