Frylinck, Mulder earn Proteas call-ups

2017-10-17 09:39
Robbie Frylinck (Gallo)

Cape Town - Wayne Parnell has been ruled out of the remainder of the Proteas' ODI series against Bangladesh through injury.

His place for the remainder of the series will be taken by 19-year-old Lions all-rounder Wiaan Mulder.

Robbie Frylinck, meanwhile, has been called up to the national side for the two-match T20 series against the Tigers that will be played next week. 

"The selection of Robbie provides another opportunity to explore our depth in the important all-rounder position," commented CSA national selection panel convener Linda Zondi.

"Apart from his bowling strengths he has a proven record as a finisher with the bat." 

Zondi also explained the rationale behind the decision to rest Imran Tahir for the T20s.

"Imran remains our first-choice spinner in both the limited overs formats but we also need to develop depth in this important area which is why we have given further opportunities to Shamsi and Phangiso," he said. 

Faf du Plessis resumes the T20 captaincy after missing the series in England while the selectors have also decided to rest Kagiso Rabada who has been playing non-stop cricket for the Proteas for an extended period of time.

The second ODI against Bangladesh is set to take place in Paarl on Wednesday from 10:00. 

Proteas T20 international squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Robbie Frylinck (Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Highveld Lions), David Miller (Knights), Mangaliso Mosehle (Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans).

Proteas ODI squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras),  Imran Tahir (Dolphins), David Miller (Knights), Wiaan Mulder (Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.