Elgar takes place in SA cricket history

2017-07-03 14:00
Dean Elgar (Getty)

Cape Town - Proteas opener Dean Elgar will take his place among some of the greatest names in South African cricket history when he becomes just the 12th man to captain the Proteas (post 1992) in Test cricket this week. 

Regular captain Faf du Plessis is still in South Africa following the birth of his child and has been ruled out of Thursday's series opener, and Elgar has been given the leadership. 

With 35 Tests to his name, this will surely be the highlight of the 30-year-old Elgar's Test career so far, especially given that his first taste of the captaincy will come at the 'Home of Cricket'. 

It may seem a strange call on the surface, but with AB de Villiers not currently playing Test cricket and with Hashim Amla vocal on not wanting the captaincy, Elgar emerged as the best possible candidate. 

He has long been a respected leader in this side and there were even some mumblings that he was being considered for the role when Amla stepped down in 2015. 

As it turns out, Du Plessis has excelled as Test captain, but Elgar will still have a massive responsibility in getting the Proteas off to a good start in the series. 

Du Plessis is expected to play in the second Test at Trent Bridge from July 14, meaning that Elgar is likely to only get the one game as skipper. 

Of the 11 men to have previously captained the Proteas in Test cricket, only Gary Kirsten has done so for a single game. 

That came in 1998 when the Proteas drew a rain-affected clash against Pakistan in Johannesburg. 

Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince and AB de Villiers, meanwhile, each captained the Proteas in two Test matches. 

List of Proteas Test captains (post 1992):

Kepler Wessels (1992-1994) - 16 Tests, 5 Wins

Hansie Cronje (1994-2000) - 53 Tests, 27 Wins

Gary Kirsten (1998) - 1 Test, 0 Wins

Shaun Pollock (2000-2003) - 26 Tests, 14 Wins

Mark Boucher (2002) - 4 Tests, 2 Wins

Graeme Smith (2003-2014) - 108 Tests, 53 Wins

Jacques Kallis (2006-2009) - 2 Tests, 1 Win

Ashwell Prince (2006) - 2 Tests, 0 Wins

Hashim Amla (2014-2016) - 14 Tests, 4 Wins

AB de Villiers (2016) - 2 Tests, 1 Win

Faf du Plessis (2016-2017) - 11 Tests, 7 Wins

Read more on:    proteas  |  dean elgar  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.