Devnarain to skipper SA Women in Ireland

2016-07-12 11:47
Dinesha Devnarain (Gallo)

Cape own - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday, announced the 14-woman Proteas squad to take on Ireland in a four-match ODI and two-match T20 series in Dublin from 1-11 August 2016. 

The team will be led by Dinesha Devnarain after a scheduling conflict saw four players, including newly announced captain, Dané van Niekerk, not being available as they had already committed to the England Super League T20 competition. The other players affected are Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp and Lizelle Lee. 

The players had been given No Objection Certificates by CSA before the tour details had been finalized by Cricket Ireland. The tour was an unscheduled request made by Ireland and South Africa’s management team saw this as an opportunity to prepare a bigger player group for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2017.

“We see this as a good opportunity to give our young, up-and-coming players some vital international experience,” coach Hilton Moreeng said.

“This will help us with the depth of the side and it will be a good test to see what they have to offer, especially after campaigning for a place in the side for so long. All of them have represented South Africa before and will value the opportunity to play more cricket against a good Ireland side on foreign soil.”

Moreeng is satisfied with the balance of his side and backs his interim captain fully.

“The ODI series is of course the major focus for us,” he continued.

“Most of the members of the team have been taking part in the CSA National Academy in preparation for this tour and they are excited to get back out on the park.

“Dinesha (Devnarain) is an experienced campaigner who has years of experience in international cricket. She is also the coach and captain of the KwaZulu-Natal women’s team and one of only eight women in South Africa with a Level Three CSA Coaching certificate. I am confident that she will lead the team well in Ireland and return home with the required result.”

The team will depart at 07:15 on 28 July on flight EK 161 to Dubai, connecting to Dublin.

Momentum Proteas team to Ireland:

Dinesha Devnarain (KZN), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Lara Goodall (Boland), Ayabonga Khaka (Border), Yolani Fourie (Gauteng), Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Masabata Klaas (Northerns), Chloe Tryon (KZN), Moeseline Daniels (Boland), Suné Luus (Northerns), Odine Kirsten (Northerns).

Management: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Clinton du Preez (Manager), Abram Ramoadi (Video Analyst), Russell Clarke (Fitness Trainer), Cliffe Deacon (Physiotherapist).

SA Tour to Ireland fixtures:

1 AUG – 1st T20i (YMCA)

3 AUG – 2nd T20i (YMCA)

5 AUG – 1st ODI (Merrion)

7 AUG – 2nd ODI (YMCA)

9 AUG – 3rd ODI (Malahide)

11 AUG – 4th ODI (The Hills)

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00
Friday, 03 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 10:30
Thursday, 16 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.