De Kock’s the man at CSA awards

2017-05-14 06:28
WINNER: Quinton de Kock has won five gongs at the CSA Awards. (Dave Rowland, Getty Images)

Johannesburg - When the dust had settled after the Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards event, wicketkeeper/­batsman Quinton de Kock had won all but the one award he probably should have been given – that of patron saint of lost causes.

Throughout South Africa’s international season, his calling card with the bat was a sting in the tail after the top and middle order had been shunted out, as was the case in the Test series away in Australia and the Test series against New Zealand in their backyard.

But because the judges in these matters don’t give such an award, Quinny had to settle for the other five awards: South African Cricketer of the Year; Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year; Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year; SA Player’s Player of the Year and SA Fans’ Player of the Year.

Leading Proteas performer

What would ordinarily have been an exercise in cleaning up was slightly overshadowed by Kagiso Rabada’s haul last year – the fast bowler took home an unprecedented six awards.

However, when it came to the leading ­Proteas performer across all formats this ­season, there was no looking past the 24-year-old De Kock.

The International Cricket Council ODI Cricketer of the Year had a sensational year, coming within 11 runs of beating Gary Kirsten’s record for the most runs scored in a one-day international by a South African (188 not out) with an astonishing 178 against Australia at ­SuperSport Park.

The only awards he didn’t get were the Standard Bank T20 International Player of the Year Award, which went to the evergreen and ­impressive Imran Tahir for the second year in a row, and the KFC Award of Excellence, which went to his mucking mate Temba Bavuma for that low-flying runout of David Warner in the Test series against Australia.

Much as he seemed to like the feeling of ­donning a Superman suit, De Kock wasn’t ­eligible for the Ram Delivery of the Year Award, which went to familiar face Rabada for castling Australian batsman Usman Khawaja in the Perth Test of the Aussie tour.

Debut season

Suné Luus was named SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year, while Lizelle Lee was named SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year, with the International Newcomer of the Year awards going to left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj and lusty hitter Laura Wolvaardt.

In domestic cricket, Proteas and Knights fast bowler Duanne Olivier was named Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year, with Titans coach and former Proteas wicketkeeper Mark Boucher named the Pitchvision Coach of the Year in his debut season.

Titans players Farhaan Behardien and ­Henry Davids won the CSA T20 Challenge Player of the Year and the Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year, respectively, with Aiden Markram winning Domestic ­Newcomer of the Year. The Titans also won the CSA Fair Play Award.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Sunday, 04 February 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.