De Kock returns to Top 10 of Test rankings

2019-10-07 21:51
Quinton de Kock (Getty Images)
Quinton de Kock (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Proteas batsman Quinton de Kock has moved back into the Top 10 of the ICC Test batting rankings following their defeat against India in the first Test on Sunday.

South Africa were bowled out for 191 in their second innings as they lost by 203 runs in Visakhapatnam.

According to the ICC website, centurions De Kock and Dean Elgar were the only South Africans to move up in the rankings.

De Kock returned to the Top 10 as he gained four places and moved to seventh for scoring his first Test century against India.

De Kock made 111 off 163 balls in the first innings and shared a 164-run partnership with opener Elgar.

However, things didn't go according to plan for De Kock in the second innings as he fell for a duck.

Meanwhile, Elgar moved up five places to sit in 14th position after making 160 and 2.

India batsman Rohit Sharma, became the first player to score a century in each innings of his maiden Test as opener, reached a career-best 17th position for his 176 and 127.

Among the bowlers, spinner Ravichandran Ashwin made a comeback to the Top 10 after his eight wicket-haul, which included figures of seven for 145 in the first innings.

India have gained 40 points in the ICC World Test Championship table after the win at Visakhapatnam and are now on 160 points after having won a full 120 points for a 2-0 series win in the West Indies.

India lead the three-match series 1-0, with the second Test scheduled for Thursday in Pune (06:00 SA time).

ICC Test rankings:


1. Steve Smith (AUS) - 937

2. Virat Kohli (IND) - 899

3. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 878

4. Cheteshwar Pujara (IND) - 818

5. Henry Nicholls (NZ) - 749

6. Joe Root (ENG) - 731

7. Quinton de Kock (SA) - 729

8. Tom Latham (NZ) - 724

9.  Dimuth Karunaratne (SL) - 723

10. Ajinkya Rahane (IND) - 719


1. Pat Cummins (AUS) - 908

2. Kagiso Rabada (SA) - 828

3. Jasprit Bumrah (IND) - 827

4. Jason Holder (WI) - 814

5. Vernon Philander (SA) - 811

6. James Anderson (ENG) - 798

7. Trent Boult (NZ) - 795

8. Neil Wagner (NZ) - 785

9. Kemar Roach (WI) - 780

10. Ravichandran Ashwin (IND) - 770

- Compiled by Lynn Butler

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc  |  quinton de kock  |  dean elgar  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.