De Kock named ODI Cricketer of the Year

2016-12-22 12:02
Quinton de Kock (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Proteas wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has been named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year.

He is the second South African player - after AB de Villiers (2010, 2014 and 2015) - and ninth overall to clinch this award.

In the voting period, De Kock scored 793 runs in 16 ODIs with four centuries and a half-century.

He averaged over 56 and had a strike-rate of just under 98. He also dismissed 15 batsmen behind the wickets with the gloves.

De Kock, 24, was also included in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

A delighted De Kock said: "It's great to hear that I've been named as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. To be named as the best from among so many good cricketers gives one utmost satisfaction.

"This award obviously rewards consistent performances at the top level and I'm happy to have done well for my team over this period," said De Kock.

"To join a select group of players that include my senior AB de Villiers makes this a special moment, one that I'll cherish for long. I thank the ICC for selecting me for this award and to my team-members and support staff for all their help and support."

Meanwhile, Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin clinched the ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year award, while West Indian Carlos Brathwaite won the T20I Performance of the Year award for his match-winning innings in the World Twenty20 final.

The player awards were judged by a voting academy, which was entirely independent of the ICC and in which members of the media from all the 10 Test playing countries were eligible to vote.

The voting period ran from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016.

The full list of ICC Award 2016 winners is:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year - Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year - Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year - Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies )

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award - Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) - Marais Erasmus

Read more on:    proteas  |  quinton de kock  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.