CSA congratulates Proteas on ODI series win

2017-10-18 20:24
Thabang Moroe (Gallo)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) congratulated the Proteas in winning the ODI series after they beat Bangladesh by 104 runs in the second game of the three-match ODI series at Boland Park on Wednesday - to take an unbeatable 2-0 series lead.

READ: AB stars as Proteas clinch ODI series

"This is another important step forward for our new leadership team headed by national head coach Ottis Gibson and captain Faf du Plessis and congratulations are due to them and all the players and management staff," commented CSA acting chief executive, Thabang Moroe.

"This also marks the start of our campaign to achieve a successful outcome at 2019 ICC World Cup and it represents a significant start.

"There have been many fine individual performances by the likes of Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Andile Phehlukwayo and Kagiso Rabada but a standout feature has been that this has been very much a team effort with our experienced senior players making their mark and younger players also coming through to broaden our playing pool.

"Hopefully they can complete a clean sweep of the series at Buffalo Park in East London on Sunday to regain the ICC No 1 ranking in this format.

"I would also like to thank and congratulate the unions that have hosted these matches. They have been extremely well supported," concluded Moroe.

The third and final ODI gets underway on Sunday, October 22 at Buffalo Park, East London.

Proteas ODI squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras),  Imran Tahir (Dolphins), David Miller (Knights), Wiaan Mulder (Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions)

Read more on:    proteas  |  thabang moroe  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 22 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Cape Town 10:00
Friday, 30 March 2018
South Africa v Australia, Johannesburg 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Your thoughts on the two-Test suspension handed down by the ICC to Proteas speedster Kagiso Rabada?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.