Cricket SA congratulate Proteas trio

2015-12-02 20:37
Haroon Lorgat (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated AB de Villiers on being named captain of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) ODI team of the year for 2015 as well as two of his Castle Lager Proteas team mates, Hashim Amla and Imran Tahir, on also making the select XI.

This is the first time that De Villiers has been named as captain and the fourth time that he has made the select XI in the past 5 years.

This is Amla’s second selection as he was also honoured in 2013 while Imran is a first-timer.

Despite being the number 1 ranked Test team, none of the Castle Lager Proteas Test squad has made the ICC Test XI for 2015. This is due to the fact that the ICC teams are selected largely on the basis of statistics and the Proteas only played 5 Test matches in the period under review between September 18 2014 and September 13 2015.

Two of those Test matches against Bangladesh were badly affected by the weather which only left the three-Test Series against the West Indies. Both De Villiers and Amla averaged more than 100 in that series while Steyn took 13 wickets at 22.15.

This brings to an end a remarkable sequence by Steyn stretching back to 2008 when he has been named in the ICC Test team for a record 7 years in a row.

De Villiers was named 5 times between 2009 and 2014, only missing out in 2012.

“Congratulations to AB, Hashim and Imran on their selection to the ICC ODI team,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “They continue to make the nation proud and AB deserves a special mention for what he has achieved over the past year both as player and as leader. He is truly a global icon of the game and I have no doubt that his selection will be cheered the world over.”

ICC Test XI for 2015

Alastair Cook (England, capt), David Warner (Australia), Kane Williamson (NZ), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Steve Smith (Australia), Joe Root (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan), Stuart Broad (England), Trent Boult (NZ), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Josh Hazlewood (Australia). 12th man: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI XI for 2015

AB de Villiers (SA, captain), Hashim Amla (SA), Tillekeratne Dilshan (SL), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper), Steve Smith (Australia), Ross Taylor (NZ), Trent Boult (NZ), Mohammed Shami (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Imran Tahir (SA). 12th man: Joe Root (England)

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 01 February 2020
South Africa XI v England XI, Paarl 10:00
Tuesday, 04 February 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 13:00
Friday, 07 February 2020
South Africa v England, , Durban 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.