Welcome! Australians arrive for Proteas series

2018-02-16 22:26
Steve Smith (Getty)

Johannesburg - Australia's Test squad, with the exception of David Warner, have arrived in South Africa ahead of a four-match Test series starting in Durban on March 1.

The Australians arrived on Thursday night.

Warner is the only member of the Test squad involved in a triangular T20 series which ends in Auckland, New Zealand, on Wednesday.

READ: Australia set record run chase to beat Black Caps

Australia will be defending a proud record in South Africa.

Although they have lost three successive home Test series against South Africa, the tourists have yet to lose a series in South Africa in the modern era.

On seven tours since South Africa returned to international cricket in 1991, Australia have won five series and drawn two.

The tourists have a potential 11 days to prepare for the first Test, including a three-day match against South Africa 'A' in Benoni starting on Thursday.

Australian squad:

Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (wkt), Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.


February 22-24, South Africa 'A', Benoni

March 1-5, First Test, Durban

March 9-13, Second Test, Port Elizabeth

March 24-28, Third Test, Cape Town

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  steve smith  |  david warner  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Sunday, 30 September 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Kimberley 10:00
Wednesday, 03 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Bloemfontein 11:00
Saturday, 06 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Paarl 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.