Australia to field same XI for second Test

2018-03-08 14:13
Steve Smith (Gallo)

Port Elizabeth - Australia will field an unchanged XI for the second Test against South Africa in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

That was the word from captain Steve Smith on Thursday after a week that has seen all of the focus on David Warner and Quinton de Kock following their now infamous altercation at Kingsmead on Sunday. 

Warner was fined 75% of his match fee for that incident, but it means that he has escaped suspension and will be able to play in Port Elizabeth. 

It is the third straight Test match that Australia have gone in with an unchanged side. 

Play on Friday gets underway at 10:00.



David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (captain), Sean Marsh, Mitch Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon

South Africa


Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  steve smith  |  port elizabeth  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 12 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Galle International Stadium 06:30
Friday, 20 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Colombo 06:30
Sunday, 29 July 2018
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium 06:15
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season has wrapped up. For all the season highlights - and lowlights - be sure to visit Sport24!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.