Australia starting XI unchanged for 1st SA Test

2018-02-28 14:10
Steve Smith (Supplied)

Durban - Australia captain Steve Smith confirmed they will field unchanged team for the first Test against South Africa, starting in Durban on Thursday.

Smith and his team will be aiming to start the four-match series on a high having beaten England 4-0 at home in the Ashes the last time they played in the longest format.

Because of that comprehensive Ashes victory, Australia have decided that they will go with the same starting XI for the first Test against the Proteas.

That means Cameron Bancroft will get another opportunity at the top of the order alongside David Warner while the pace trio of Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood will be reunited.

Smith said the team at his disposal can adapt to any conditions that they will be face at Kingsmead.

"I thought that they'd go with quite slow wickets or maybe green wickets. One of the two. I didn't think they'd have a great deal of pace,” Smith said on Wednesday.

"Looking at the (Kingsmead) wicket now a couple of days out, it looks like it could be quite slow, maybe not a great deal of carry.

"But I'm terrible at judging wickets, so it's just about summing it up when we're out there and adapting to whatever we're dealt and identifying it quickly and making sure we're doing everything we need to do on our feet quickly.

"The first Test match is so important, so you don't want to be behind the eight ball early in this series."

Australia XI:

David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (captain), Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  steve smith  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Sunday, 30 September 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Kimberley 10:00
Wednesday, 03 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, , Bloemfontein 11:00
Saturday, 06 October 2018
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Paarl 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.