Australia opt to bat, Faf returns

2016-06-11 18:56
Faf du Plessis (AFP)

St Kitts - Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and chose to bat first against South Africa in the fourth match of the tri-nation one-day international series at Warner Park on Saturday.

Routed for just 142 by the Proteas in the last of the three matches in Guyana four days earlier, Australia have made three changes for the re-match with a South African side that leads the three-team standings on net run-rate over the Aussies following that 47-run victory.

George Bailey replaces the struggling Glenn Maxwell in the batting line-up while Mitchell Starc and Nathan Coulter-Nile continue to alternate the key strike-bowling, Starc filling the spot on this occasion.

All-rounder James Faulkner makes his first appearance in the competition at the expense of experienced off-spinner Nathan Lyon.

With Rilee Rossouw ruled out of the tournament with a shoulder injury sustained in the field last Tuesday at Providence, Faf du Plessis takes his place in the South African batting line-up having recovered sufficiently from a broken finger that has kept him out of action so far on this Caribbean tour.

Fast-medium bowler Kyle Abbott replaces left-arm wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi at a venue which has a reputation for high scoring given its relatively short boundaries.

Hosts West Indies, a point behind the other two teams, re-enter the tournament on Monday when they take on Australia.


Australia - Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Adam Zampa, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

South Africa - A.B. de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Faf du Plessis, J.P. Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Friday, 22 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, Centurion 18:00
Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.