Australia claim T20 series victory

2016-03-09 21:15
David Warner (AP)

Cape Town - For the second time in succession, Australia put the Proteas attack to the sword, securing victory in the third and decisive T20 international at PPC Newlands by 6 wickets to take the series 2-1.

As it happened: Proteas v Australia - 3rd T20 International - PPC Newlands

Much like the Proteas had done at the start of their innings, the visitors opening batsmen Usman Khawaja (33 off 25 balls) and Shane Watson (42 off 27 balls) attacked from the outset and immediately put the home side under pressure. 

They put on 76 for the first wicket in just 8 overs to set the platform for Australia's formidable middle order to continue the onslaught.

Imran Tahir (2/38 in four overs) was again targeted although no South African bowler had any answer to the Australians. 

Captain Steve Smith (44 off 26) and David Warner (33 off 27) took the visitors to within sight of victory before Warner was run-out attempting a suicidal second run.

Smith soon followed, but Glenn Maxwell (19*) and Mitchell Marsh (4*) saw the visitors home. 

Earlier, led by a by a fine 97* (62 balls) by Hashim Amla, the Proteas posted 178 for 4 after captain Faf du Plessis had won the toss and elected to bat.

Amla and Quinton de Kock were quick to take the attack to the visitors with De Kock leading the charge.

The pair put on 47 for the first wicket in just 4.1 overs before De Kock fell for 25 (13 balls).

Faf du Plessis (4) soon followed with the recalled Rilee Rossouw replacing him.

Rossouw however, struggled to get going, eventually departing for 16 (21 balls) as Australia clawed their way back into the match with some disciplined bowling.

Adam Zampa, the young leg spinner, was particularly impressive, finishing with 0/23 in his four overs. 

Amla was joined by David Miller and the pair accelerated impressively, putting on 50 for the fourth wicket in just 29 balls before Miller fell for 30 (16 balls) in the final over.



178/4 in 20 overs

Amla 97* (62 balls, 8x4, 4x6)

Miller 30 (16 balls, 2x4, 2x6)

De Kock 25 (13 balls, 4x4, 1x6)

Coulter-Nile 2/36 in 4 overs

Faulkner 1/42 in 4 overs

Zampa 0/23 in 4 overs


181/4 in 19.2 overs

Watson 42 (27 balls, 2x4, 3x6)

Khawaja 33 (25 balls, 4x4, 1x6)

Smith 44 (26 balls, 2x4, 2x6)

Warner 33 (27 balls, 3x4)

Tahir 2/38 in 4 overs

Rabada 1/38 in 4 overs

Read more on:    australia  |  proteas  |  steve smith  |  hashim amla  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.