AB returns to No 1 in ICC ODI rankings

2017-10-20 12:07
AB de Villiers (Gallo)

Cape Town - Proteas star batsman AB de Villiers has stormed back to the No 1 position of the ICC ODI batsmen rankings.

READ: Proteas edge past India to top ODI rankings

An astonishing knock of 176 by De Villiers in the second ODI against Bangladesh in Paarl on Wednesday - consisting of 15 fours and seven sixes and off only 104 balls - saw the Proteas take a 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

According to the ICC's official website, De Villiers has climbed to the top of the ODI table for the 14th time in his career.

He leapfrogged Australian David Warner and India captain Virat Kohli for top spot, having first attained the No 1 position on May 30, 2010.

De Villiers has spent the second most number of days (2 124) at the top after retired Windies great Vivian Richards (2 306 days).

Other Proteas batsmen to make a move in the rankings include the opening pair of Quinton de Kock, who moved up three places to fifth and Hashim Amla, who slots into the top 10 of the batting rankings climbing up two places to ninth.

Meanwhile, Proteas spinner Imran Tahir has lost his No 1 ranking to Pakistan's Hasan Ali, who rocketed up six places to No 1. Proteas paceman Andile Phehlukwayo jumped up 30 places to 52nd.

The third and final ODI between South Africa and Bangladesh gets underway on Sunday in East London (10:00).

ICC ODI batsmen:

1. AB de Villiers (RSA) - 879

2. Virat Kohli (IND) - 877

3. David Warner (AUS) - 865

4. Babar Azam (PAK) - 833

5. Quinton de Kock (RSA) - 802

5. Joe Root (ENG) - 802

7. Rohit Sharma (IND) - 790

8. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 779

9. Hashim Amla (RSA) - 770

10. Faf du Plessis (RSA) - 754

ICC ODI bowlers:

1. Hasan Ali (PAK) - 743

2. Imran Tahir (RSA) - 726

3.  Josh Hazlewood (AUS) - 714

4. Kagiso Rabada (RSA) - 703

5. Mitchell Starc (AUS) - 684

6. Jasprit Bumrah (IND) - 671

7. Trent Boult (NZ) - 665

8. Akshar Patel (IND) - 663

9. Rashid Khan (AFG) - 647

10. Sunil Narine (WI) - 646

Read more on:    proteas  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.