Zim win toss, ask SA to bat

2014-09-04 09:17
AB de Villiers (AFP)
Harare - Zimbabwe captain Elton Chigumbura has won the toss and elected to bowl first in their triangular series ODI against South Africa on Thursday.


The Proteas made two changes to their side for the clash. Rilee Rossouw and Wayne Parnell made their way in for Imran Tahir and Ryan McLaren.
Zimbabwe also made two changes, with Vusi Sibanda and Neville Madziva coming in for Tino Mawoyo and Donald Tiripano.
The teams observed a minute's silence following the passing of Norman Gordon, the oldest Test cricketer who passed away at the age of 103 on Tuesday.

Zimbabwe: Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wicketkeeper), Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Elton Chigumbura (captain), Prosper Utseya, Neville Madziva, John Nyumbu, Tendai Chatara

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dale Steyn, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Morkel

Referees: Aleem Dar (Umpire), Jeremiah Matibiri (Umpire), Owen Chirombe (TV umpire), Javagal Srinath (Match referee)

Read more on:    zimbabwe  |  proteas  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.