West Indies win run fest

2015-01-11 19:16
Chris Gayle. (Themba Hadebe, AP)

Johannesburg - Faf du Plessis blasted the second fastest century in Twenty20 internationals but it was not enough for South Africa as the West Indies produced a record chase in a run fest to win by four wickets at the Wanderers on Sunday.

The tourists were set 232 for victory and passed that mark with four balls remaining as Chris Gayle bludgeoned 90 from 41 balls to set up their series-clinching win.

It is the highest successful run chase in Twenty20 international cricket, beating India's 211 against Sri Lanka in 2009, with 467 runs scored in under 40 overs.

Du Plessis smashed 119 from 56 balls with 11 fours and five sixes to record the highest score by a South African in the shortest format of international cricket, taking his side to 231 for seven in their 20 overs.

Lost four quick wickets

He missed the record for the fastest hundred in Twenty20 cricket by a single ball as he took 46 to reach his ton, one more than compatriot Richard Levi against New Zealand in 2012.

The Windies were well on course for the win as Gayle punished the helpless home bowling along with Marlon Samuels (60 from 39 balls) as the pair took the score to 171 for one before the former was out in the 14th over.

That sent the jitters through the West Indies dugout as they lost four quick wickets, but Darren Sammy clubbed 20 from seven balls to carry the tourists to victory as they finished on 236 for six from 19.2 overs.

The visitors have an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, with the final contest to be played in Durban on Wednesday.

The scoreboard as supplied by SAPA:

Toss: West Indies

South Africa innings

R Rossouw c Ramdin b Holder 15 (9b, 2x6)

M van Wyk c Pollard b Benn 4 (3b, 1x4)

F du Plessis c Bravo b Holder 119 (56b, 11x4, 5x6)

D Miller run out (Russell) 47 (26b, 4x4, 3x6)

J Ontong c Holder b Bravo 19 (12b, 2x4, 1x6)

F Behardien not out 8

D Wiese c Smith b Bravo 6 (2b, 1x6)

K Abbott run out (Ramdin) 2 (2b)

Extras: (lb2, w7, nb2) 11

Total: (for seven wickets) 231 - 20 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Van Wyk 0.5 ov), 2-21 (Rossouw 2.2), 3-126 (Miller 10.3), 4-156 (Ontong 13.3), 5-222 (Du Plessis 18.6), 6-228 (Wiese 19.2), 7-231 (Abbott 19.6)

Bowling: Benn 3-0-42-1, Cottrell 3-0-47-0 (1nb), Holder 4-0-40-2 (2w), Russell 4-0-39-0 (1nb, 4w), Bravo 4-0-32-2 (1w), Sammy 1-0-17-0, Pollard 1-0-12-0

West Indies innings

D Smith lbw b De Lange 17 (9b, 4x4)

C Gayle c Van Wyk b Wiese 90 (41b, 9x4, 7x6)

M Samuels c Behardien b Wiese 60 (39b, 7x4, 2x6)

K Pollard c Behardien b Wiese 7 (5b, 1x4)

A Russell c Miller b Abbott 14 (6b, 1x4, 1x6)

D Bravo c Ontong b Phangiso 10 (5b, 1x4, 1x6)

D Sammy not out 20

D Ramdin not out 7

Extras: (b4, w7) 11

Total: (for six wickets) 236 -- 19.2 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Smith 1.5ov), 2-171 (Gayle 13.4), 3-178 (Samuels 15.1), 4-185 (Pollard 15.5), 5-198 (Russell 16.4), 6-209 (Bravo 17.4)

Bowling: Abbott 4-0-68-1 (1w), De Lange 3.2-0-42-1 (2w), Wiese 4-0-43-3 (3w), Phangiso 3-0-33-1, Tahir 4-0-29-0 (1w), Ontong 1-0-17-0

Result: West Indies won by four wickets.

The visitors have an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, with the final contest to be played in Durban on Wednesday.

Read more on:    west indies  |  sa  |  johannesburg  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Friday, 22 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, Centurion 18:00
Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.