Two warm-up games for Proteas

2014-12-02 09:02
Proteas (AFP)

Dubai - The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the complete schedule of the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, including match start time and warm-up matches.

 A total of 14 non-official ODI warm-up matches will be played across Adelaide, Christchurch, Melbourne and Sydney from February 8 to 13, with hosts and four-time former world champions Australia taking on reigning world champions India at Adelaide Oval on the first day.

Four matches will be played on the second day, with Christchurch hosting South Africa and Sri Lanka at Hagley Oval, and co-hosts New Zealand and Zimbabwe going head to head at Bert Sutcliffe Oval. In Sydney, England will face West Indies at the Sydney Cricket Ground, and Blacktown will host the Asian clash between Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Three qualifiers will be in action on Tuesday, February 10, day three of the warm-up matches. European rivals Ireland and Scotland will lock horns at Blacktown in Sydney while neighbours India and Afghanistan will prepare for the tournament proper at the Adelaide Oval.

Eight sides will feature on Wednesday, February 11. New Zealand will meet South Africa at Hagley Oval, and Sri Lanka will take on Zimbabwe at Bert Sutcliffe Oval (both matches in Christchurch), 1992 World Cup finalists England and Pakistan will test each other at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Australia will play the United Arab Emirates (UAE) at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

On Thursday, February 12, the West Indies will play Scotland at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Ireland will play Bangladesh in Blacktown, while Friday, February 13, sees the UAE play Afghanistan at Melbourne’s Junction Oval in the final warm-up game.

The public will be welcome to attend warm-up matches which will be ticketed but free of charge. Details of how to obtain tickets will be announced in due course. It should be noted that warm-up matches are not official ODIs and operate under slightly different rules with up to 15 players able to be used throughout the game with no more than 11 players may field at any one time. The spectator experience will not be the same standard as at normal ODI matches.

Additionally, the ICC has also confirmed the match start time of the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

The February 14 tournament opener between New Zealand and Sri Lanka will start at 11:00 (NZT), while Australia will square-off against England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on the same day with the first ball to be bowled at 14:30 (AEDT).

The March 29 final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground will start at 14:30 (AEDT).

The schedule of warm-up matches is (all times local time in Australia and New Zealand):

Sunday, February 8 - India v Australia (14:00), Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Monday, February 9 - South Africa v Sri Lanka (11:00), Hagley Oval, Christchurch; New Zealand v Zimbabwe (11:00), Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Christchurch; England v West Indies (14:30), Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney; Pakistan v Bangladesh (14:30), Blacktown ISP, Sydney

Tuesday, February 10 - Ireland v Scotland (14:30), Blacktown ISP, Sydney; India v Afghanistan (14:00), Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Wednesday, February 11 - New Zealand v South Africa (11:00), Hagley Oval, Christchurch; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe (11:00), Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Christchurch; Australia v UAE (14:30), Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne; England v Pakistan (14:30), Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Friday, February 13 - Afghanistan v UAE (10:00) Junction Oval, Melbourne

Read more on:    proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Wednesday, 26 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Cape Town 18:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Paarl 13:00
Wednesday, 04 March 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Bloemfontein 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.