Proteas win toss; elect to bat

2015-01-09 18:12
Faf du Plessis (Gianluigi Guercia, AFP)

Proteas T20 captain has placed the favourites tag firmly on the West Indies ahead of three KFC T20 international matches, kicking off at Newlands on Friday evening.

Cape Town - Proteas captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bat in the first Twenty20 international against the West Indies at Newlands on Friday.

Morne van Wyk has been included in the South African team and will open the batting and keep wicket in the place of the injured Quinton de Kock.

Kagiso Rabada has also been included.

The West Indies have included their full array of superstars with Chris Gayle and Dwayne Smith set to open the batting for the tourists.

Star all-rounders Dwyane Bravo and Kieron Pollard are also in the line-up.

Proteas team: Morne van Wyk (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis (capt), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, David Wiese, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir

West Indies team: Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy (capt), Andre Russell, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell

Read more on:    windies  |  proteas  |  cape town  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Sunday, 04 February 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.