Proteas win toss, bat first

2015-08-26 12:13
AB de Villiers (Gallo Images)

Durban - The Proteas have made two changes for the third series-deciding One-Day International (ODI) against New Zealand at Kingsmead on Wednesday.

Live scoring

Kagiso Rabada makes a return in the place of Aaron Phangiso, while Kyle Abbott makes his first appearance of the series for Vernon Philander who is unavailable for selection due to a viral infection.  

SA skipper AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat in bright Durban sunshine, as the Proteas look to clinch the series along with the third spot on the ICC ODI team rankings.  


South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk (wkt), Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, David Wiese, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Imran Tahir

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, George Worker, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wkt), Doug Bracewell, Ben Wheeler, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: Johan Cloete (RSA), Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Shaun George (RSA)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Sunday, 04 February 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.