Proteas opt to bat first in 2nd T20

2015-07-07 08:59
Faf du Plessis (AFP)

Dhaka - South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and elected to bat in the second and final Twenty20 international against Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Tuesday.

South Africa, who lead the series 1-0 after winning the opening match by 52 runs on Sunday, handed leg-spinner Eddie Leie a Twenty20 international debut in place of Kagiso Rabada.

Bangladesh made one change with batsman Rony Talukdar replacing off-spinner Sohag Gazi to make his Twenty20 international debut.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Litton Das, Rony Talukdar, Arafat Sunny, Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Aaron Phangiso, AB de Villiers, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Kyle Abbott, Wayne Parnell, Eddie Leie, David Wiese.

Umpires: Anisur Rahman (BAN) and Enamul Haque (BAN)

TV Umpire: Sharfoudoulla Saikat (BAN)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)                                                        

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.