India win toss, elect to bat v SA

2015-10-14 09:47
Rohit Sharma (Gallo Images)

Indore - India's captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the second one-day international against South Africa in Indore on Sunday.

The tourists lead the five-match series 1-0 after winning a high-scoring thriller in Kanpur by five runs on Sunday.

South Africa retained the winning combination, while India made three changes, bringing in left-arm slow bowler Axar Patel, seamer Mohit Sharma and veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

The trio replaced the injured Ravichandran Ashwin, leg-spinner Amit Mishra and all-rounder Stuart Binny.

The one-day series will be followed by four Test matches.

India - Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma.

South Africa - AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Vineet Kulkarni (IND)

TV umpire: CK Nandan (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.