Hafeez ditched for SA series

2013-10-05 14:16
Mohammad Hafeez (File)

Islamabad - Pakistan have dropped out-of-form opening batsman Mohammad Hafeez for this month's two-Test series against South Africa in the United Arab Emirates.

The axing of Hafeez was expected after he scored only 102 runs in the last five Test matches this year, including three against South Africa and two against lowly-ranked Zimbabwe.

South Africa is the team against which Hafeez has always struggled, scoring only one half century and a total of 307 runs in 18 innings.

The selectors have named 12 players for the Test series while three more will be added after Pakistan 'A' play a three-day warm-up match against the Proteas next week at Sharjah.

Abu Dhabi will host the first Test from October 14-18 while the second Test will be played at Dubai from October 23-27.

The Test team will be led by Misbah-ul-Haq, who has also come under criticism after Pakistan lost four of their last five Test matches this year.

South Africa whitewashed Pakistan 3-0 in February before Zimbabwe shocked Misbah with a victory in the second Test at Harare last month to level the series 1-1.

Wicketkeeper Adnan Akmal returned to the team after being ignored for the Test series against Zimbabwe while selectors also named three specialist spinners - Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman and uncapped Zulfiqar Babar - in the hope that the wickets will suit slow bowlers in the UAE like they did against England last year.

Pakistan whitewashed England 3-0 in 2012 with offspinner Ajmal taking 24 wickets in the three Test matches against the then-No 1 ranked team.

Babar also impressed in this week's three-day practice match between PCB XI and Chief Minister's XI when he took six wickets in an innings at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium.

The 12-man squad also includes three left-arm fast bowlers, Junaid Khan, 7-foot-1 Mohammad Irfan and Rahat Ali.

Pakistan will be heavily relying on their experienced middle order batsmen Younis Khan and Misbah along with Azhar Ali and Umar Amin. Another middle order batsman, Asad Shafiq, might also make the final 15-member squad, but needs to do well in the warm-up match against South Africa.

Pakistan squad:

Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Khurram Manzoor, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Umar Amin, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Abdul Rehman, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Rahat Ali

Read more on:    pakistan  |  proteas  |  mohammad hafeez  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.

Wednesday, 26 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Cape Town 18:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Paarl 13:00
Wednesday, 04 March 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Bloemfontein 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.