Duminy to captain SA T20 side

2014-09-30 11:23
JP Duminy (AFP)
Cape Town - JP Duminy will captain the Proteas for the first time when they play a T20 series against Australia in November.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday named the Proteas ODI and T20 squads for upcoming series in New Zealand and Australia.

Duminy will captain the Proteas with regular T20 skipper Faf du Plessis rested.

The selectors have also named three new caps - Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada - in the Proteas T20 squad.

Fast bowler Marchant de Lange will also play his first T20 international in more than two years, having recovered from a succession of injury issues.

“We have decided to rest some of our core senior players who are involved in all three formats,” commented CSA selection convener, Andrew Hudson.

“It is the only opportunity we have to ease their workload in what is going to be a very busy and intense summer season.

“All three (new caps) have done well for South Africa A and Rossouw recently made his international ODI debut as well.”


Meanwhile, Vernon Philander, who missed the triangular ODI series in Zimbabwe through injury, returns to the Proteas squad for the ODI series against New Zealand and Australia.

Philander takes the place of Mthokozisi Shezi in the only change to the squad that won the series against Zimbabwe and Australia.

Kyle Abbott retains his place as Beuran Hendricks, the man whom he replaced, remains on the sidelines with a long-term injury.

“We are very happy with the progress and momentum the team has established over the last couple of months, first in Sri Lanka and then in Zimbabwe,” said Hudson.

“We have another 13 ODIs (three in New Zealand, five in Australia and five at home against the West Indies) before we head to the World Cup to round off our preparation.”

Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (Titans, captain), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras, vice-captain), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Ryan McLaren (Dolphins), David Miller (Dolphins), Morne Morkel (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras)

Proteas T20 squad: JP Duminy (Cape Cobras, captain), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Ryan McLaren (Dolphins), David Miller (Dolphins), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), David Wiese (Titans)

Tour itinerary

New Zealand:

October 21: 1st ODI, Mount Maunganui
October 24: 2nd ODI, Mount Maunganui
October 27: 3rd ODI, Hamilton


November 5: 1st T20 International, Adelaide
November 7: 2nd T20 International, Melbourne
November 9: 3rd T20 International, Sydney
November 14: 1st ODI, Perth
November 16: 2nd ODI, Perth
November 19: 3rd ODI, Canberra
November 21: 4th ODI, Melbourne
November 23: 5th ODI, Sydney

Read more on:    proteas  |  jp duminy  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.