CSA awards Heritage blazers

2014-06-04 20:30
Cricket South Africa (File)

Johannesburg - The first 10 Cricket SA Heritage Blazers were presented at the CSA Awards banquet in Sandton on Wednesday evening.

The Heritage Blazer came into being following a resolution at last year's transformation indaba which was subsequently approved by the CSA Board.

The idea is to honour players who were awarded national colours by their respective federations in the period before unity.

"Our past history is real and we must have the courage to acknowledge it," CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.

"The important point though is that all our cricketers must now belong to one family and unite behind Cricket South Africa.

"We have identified about 700 players who represented South Africa before unity and we will bestow the Heritage Blazer to all 75 living players in the near future."

In the apartheid years before unity, there were 10 federations which administered cricket in South Africa.

The federations were: the SA Cricket Board of Control (SACBOC), the SA African Cricket Board (SAACB), the SA Coloured Cricket Association (SACCA), the SA Indian Cricket Union (SAICU), the SA Malay Cricket Board (SAMCB), the SA Cricket Board (SACB), the SA Cricket Association (SACA), the SA Cricket Union (SACU), the SA and Rhodesian Women's Cricket Association (SARWCA) and the SA Women's Cricket Association (SAWCA).

The first 10 recipients to be honoured were: Sam Bulbulia (SACBOC), Samuel Nontshinga (SAACB), Bert Erickson (SACCA), Thoplan Parsuraman (SAICU), Hashim Rasdien (SAMCB), Saait Magiet (SACB), Barry Richards (SACA), Garth le Roux (SACU), Denise Weyers (SARRWCA) and Denise Reid (SAWCA).

The new Heritage Blazers will have the standard CSA badge on the pocket with the simple designation of the board the players represented and their debut year underneath it.

Read more on:    csa  |  csa awards  |  johannesburg  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.