CSA award 3 new contracts

2015-02-27 20:41
Kagiso Rabada (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Board of Directors of Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday approved the names of the 17 players proposed by the selection panel for national contracts and the 12 players for High Performance (HP) contracts for the 2015-2016 year.

New national contracts have been awarded to Kyle Abbott of the Dolphins and Aaron Phangiso and Kagiso Rabada, both from the Highveld Lions.

All three were previously on High Performance contracts.

Newcomers in this latter category are Farhaan Behardien of Titans and the Cape Cobras duo of Dane Piedt and Mthokozisi Shezi.

Six senior players will hold two-year national contracts while the rest of the squad will receive one-year contracts. The two-year contracts are decided by the selectors in consultation with the CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

"Last year we rewarded our key players with two-year contracts for the first time and we will continue with this practice by adding on another year to their contracts," said Lorgat.

"They are world-class players and certainly deserve the recognition."

The players recommended for HP contracts are those identified by the selectors as having the potential to represent SA and are currently developing in franchise teams.

Nationally contracted players: Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), AB de Villiers (Titans), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Dean Elgar (Titans), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Ryan McLaren (Dolphins), David Miller (Dolphins), Morne Morkel (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Highveld Lions).

High Performance contracted players: Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Simon Harmer (Warriors), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Eddie Leie (Highveld Lions), Mangaliso Mosehle (Titans), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Mthokozisi Shezi (Cape Cobras), Stiaan van Zyl (Cape Cobras), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins)

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas  |  aaron phangiso  |  johannesburg  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.