Boks claim bragging rights

2014-12-05 22:00
Dale Steyn and Victor Matfield (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - There was no shortage of either smiles or entertainment as the Springboks stunned the Proteas by five wickets to lift the Nelson Mandela Legacy Cup on a fun-filled Friday night at Wanderers.

On a day that featured a kicking competition, a six-hitting competition, an autograph signing session with players from both teams, a performance by Prime Circle, and a great deal of fundraising for the Nelson Mandela Foundation, Victor Matfield’s exciting innings ultimately gave the Springboks bragging rights for the next year.

Matfield displayed an impressive array of shots, some of which would have made any Protea proud, as he hit 62 from just 36 balls to put the Springboks on track in their chase of 182 for victory.

The lock forward made excellent use of the batting power play along with Tiaan Liebenberg as the opening pair put on 48 in the first five overs, and then added 66 for the third wicket with captain, Butch James.

Kagiso Rabada brought the Proteas back into the game when he dismissed both Matfield and James with consecutive deliveries, but Willem Alberts (24 not out in seven balls) hammered three huge sixes to take the Springboks home with seven balls to spare.

The Proteas total of 181 was based on a half-century from Hashim Amla and some fireworks lower down the order, but brilliant catching by the Springboks ensured that the innings never got out of control.

Amla hit 51 from just 31 balls before opting to retire, but when other batsmen hit balls in the air they often found a safe pair of hands, with Springbok fly-half, Handre Pollard, taking a couple of superb catches.

Both were off the bowling of Willie le Roux, who was easily the pick of the 12 bowlers used as he took 3 for 4 in two overs.

That left the Protea lower order with work to do, and Aaron Phangiso obliged by hitting 16 off five deliveries, while Rabada hammered 22 from 14.

Proteas team: Hashim Amla (captain), Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Mthokozisi Shezi, Rilee Rossouw.

Springboks squad: Willem Alberts (captain), Tiaan Liebenberg, Victor Matfield, Handre Pollard, Butch James, Jan Serfontein, Damian de Allende, Willie le Roux, Francois Hougaard, Duane Vermeulen, Bismarck du Plessis, Cornal Hendricks, Louis Koen.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 21 February 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Sunday, 03 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 10:00
Wednesday, 06 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, Centurion 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.